THE RISKS WE TAKE: TO FOLLOW MY DREAMS OR TO NOT?

“…maybe sometimes it’s riskier not to take a risk. Sometimes all you’re guaranteeing is that things will stay the same.”
Danny Wallace, Yes Man   


Have you ever asked yourself questions like, “Have I taken any real risks?” It’s one thing to stash a little money in a secret account, but what haven’t I done that makes risk-taking worth that once in a life time chance. What if life has been the same for me, for the past five or so years? Does that mean that I’m too comfortable? It actually might mean that, as well as a few other things, too.

I’ve had this burning ache in my heart to want to become this ultimately creative writer. I wasn’t looking for perfection in myself, but more in my craft because that’s what would draw people to like/read my work. One day, I started losing this passion. There were fifty-million things going on in my life and I wasn’t sure when if I’d ever get back to being my creative self.

I’d spend an hour writing these novels, and then delete them thirty minutes later because I thought that my writing was “stuck”. Who’s to say that you can be creative in such stressful environments? Riddle me this: what’s pink, small, and keeps up from ever taking huge leaps? OUR BRAINS! We overthink and then we follow up with at least fifty reasons why we won’t be able to reach our dreams.

Habakkuk 2:2 – “And the LORD answered me, and said, Write the vision, and make it plain upon tables, that he may run that readeth it.”

The Lord says that we should write out our vision and make it plain. Don’t go being too complicated on yourself. Take it one step at a time, and know that God will have you covered. Don’t forget to use your faith; it’s the “thing” that helps you realize how much chasing your dream was meant for you. If you ever feel like you’re not sure about what to do, stop and pray. “In all thy ways acknowledge him, and He shall direct thy paths” (Proverbs 3:6 KJV). Know yourself and trust that God has not limited you.

cropped-screenshot-1.png

2 thoughts on “THE RISKS WE TAKE: TO FOLLOW MY DREAMS OR TO NOT?

Leave a Reply

